Labels

Tuesday, July 27, 2010

c.cedille - hidamari [PV]

My friend introduced me to this song and I love it. I don't know what she is saying but it makes me feel happy listening to it. She is a young american girl but she lives in Japan now. She is also a vlogger (video blogger) where she teaches Japanese (added below). She is cute and funny, reminds me of Rory from Gilmore Girls, so I started watching...I want to find somebody who does this from Mexico or Spain, that would be awesome.


I found these lyrics, not sure if they are correct but I would love to know what the song is about if anybody speaks Japanese...

muimi no sekai ni tadotte dekita, hidamari no michi ni
nobusugime kimi o miteita
mitsu kazoereba kieru no hako no karada dake de
hayame ni okite issho ni dekake yo go!
namae wo naku sutame kimi no hana osenaka ni tsukeru
iku basho ni ”sore zaei ni nanai”n dato
ato nanyo wo kazoete mo omotta no wa kore de
kimi no inai sekai ni mo itakunai
sayounara wo ii nagara naiteita wakaretai
kimi ga ushitta no wa boku de hayame kawaate
kaze to domo ni nare

ato, nana wo sugoshitara himawari no sono michi ni
kimi no koto wo hitotoki mo wasurezu ni
demo hitori de koko made ikiteita, kono boku ga
kimi ni agetai no wa tada kono uta dake de
atama ni nakashite ageru?

fushigi no sekai ni don dekita himawari no okani
kirei sugiru, kimi wo mikake ta.
mitsu kazoereba mieru no wa kono hikari dake de
hayame ni okite issho ni dekake yo
sayounara wo ii nagara naiteita wakaretai
kimi ga ushitta no wa boku de hayame kawaate
kaze to domo ni nare

ato, nana wo sugoshitara himawari no sono michi ni
kimi no koto wo hitotoki mo wasurezu ni
demo hitori de koko made ikiteita, kono boku ga
kimi ni agetai no wa tada kono uta dake de
atama ni nakashite ageru

dare datte sou dakedo, dare datte hitori da yo
kimi no koto wo hitotoki mo wasurenai ni

demo hitori de koko made ikiteita, kono boku ga
kimi ni agetai no wa tada kono uta dake de
atama ni nakashite ageru?

mitsu kazoereba mieru no wa kono karada dake de
hayame ni okite issho ni dekake yo go



My last mandated post...

Well class is almost out for a whole week and a half, YAY! I actually enjoyed this English class more than I thought, though it was a lot of work. I hope my writing has improved. I think I have learned a lot about how to approach a writing assignment. I would actually consider taking another English class now because I don't have so much fear inside. I liked the groups and it really did add to the class for me. I hope I keep some of the friends I met. I also really enjoyed the blog assignment, so much so I am going to keep it up. This has overall been a good experience and I hope I do OK on my final and that my revisions help my grade. Next semester will be rough but I am excited to be as close as I am to my degrees. I am also stoked to transfer and have a new college experience to add to my fantastic Fullerton experience. Hope some of you keep your blogs as well...

Choosing my next school...

I am trying to pick a school to focus on for my transfer. I want to apply to enough schools to make sure I get in one but I want to pick a top choice. I guess I am debating between Cal Poly, Claremont, Santa Cruz, Santa Barbara, Long Beach or just staying out this way and going to CSUF. I chose Cal Poly & Claremont Colleges because they're local and they're great schools. Santa Barbara and Santa Cruz are beautiful campuses and my cousin goes to SC and loves it. SC also has a Professor I would love to get a class with. CSUF I picked because my dad went and I work there and love the school. Long Beach is in a great location and the campus is beautiful. I have a lot of thinking to do and I welcome any opinions....

CSLB
UCSB
Claremont Colleges
Cal Poly Pomona
UCSC

Sunday, July 25, 2010

Audiotistic...

So last night I worked Audiotistic, the Electric Music Festival (rave) in San Bernardoo. It was a fun but long night. I started Sat. @ 4pm and went till Sun 5am. I liked that it was 18 and over. I spent most of the time in the Damus and the Citrus buildings. We shut the Damus down a couple time due to people not able to control themselves but the music went on. Overall not too bad, for me at least. I left just as I went in 8 perfect fingers, 1 good one and 1 useless one.

Not quite as extravagant as nocturnal or beyond wonderland with the deco and the street performers but still out-of-the-box stuff you expect from insomniac. As promised the line up was pretty bad ass (especially if your into underground hip-hop); the Visionaries, Dilated Peoples, Jurrassic 5, Common, The World Famous Beat Junkies,LMNO, 2Mex, Kid Cudi,Talib Kweli, Bassnectar, and Supernatural.

Kinda creepy...

Inside Damus Pit...

Place was packed...

cool fishies...

news coverage from KTLA

Friday, July 23, 2010

The Black Keys...and more

I'm in love with this video...Right now I am really into The Black Keys.
src="http://www.youtube.com/v/mpaPBCBjSVc&hl=en_US&fs=1" width="480" height="295" allowscriptaccess="never" allowfullscreen="true" wmode="transparent" type="application/x-shockwave-flash">
They caught me with a song called next girl(below) so I checked them out and now I'm hooked...
src="http://www.youtube.com/v/x_PrT25o8Vs&hl=en_US&fs=1" width="480" height="295" allowscriptaccess="never" allowfullscreen="true" wmode="transparent" type="application/x-shockwave-flash">
They have done some songs for tv shows and they just released a new album "Brothers". I got mine...I dig it! They play with passion and soul. I love the style and humor they have in their work and the simplicity in the play with the video creation.

Another group really famous for making fun and interesting videos is OK GO. I thought I would throw their viral video in too just in case you are one of the ten people who have not seen it...BTW I so wanna try this at the school wellness center...lol You think i can get away with it?

src="http://www.youtube.com/v/pv5zWaTEVkI&hl=en_US&fs=1" width="425" height="344" allowscriptaccess="never" allowfullscreen="true" wmode="transparent" type="application/x-shockwave-flash">

Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Woo Hooo! Got my Fall schedule...

I swore I wouldn't put myself through another killer semester but I am afraid I did. I registered for 22 units. Last spring I had 25 but still I said I wouldn't do more than 19 so I'm breaking my rule already! I have a hard time paring down anything. I just want to learn so much that it takes over when its time to pick my classes. Anyway I did it so I will work hard and do what I did before, KILL IT! because Im cool like that...lol and I'm afraid of failure. So I'm taking PSY, ETHS, ESC + lab, SOC, SOSC, HIST, & PE. I just need to keep my GPA above a 3.5 so I can either do semester abroad or semester at sea as a reward...

Radical...as in cool or awesome right?

This essay has me reeling. I can never stick with a topic and this one seems to be especially hard for me. I am pretty sure I am going to do marriage but I am not as excited as I once was. I will think about it some more tonight as I read the books I got from the library. I liked some of the topics other people had today. I always feel very intimidated by school. I feel like I have a strong personality with a lot of heart and dedication but I lack a lot of really important things. Focus is one thing I am always working on. Its like I have the drive but I don't know where I am going. One of my favorite quotes is "Life is not about discovering yourself its about creating yourself" but what if your working on something & you have lots of stuff but you don't know what to create with all the materials....

Sunday, July 18, 2010

Man Drinking Fat. NYC Health Anti-Soda Ad. Are You Pouring on the Pounds?


I figured I would share some of my essay research with you: I found it disturbing...
Above is part of an ad campaign in New York to try and get people to be aware of the link between soda consumption and obesity. The health concerns with drinking sugary beverages are innumerous.
There is another ad campaign (below) going on by the Americans Against Food Taxes where the complaint is that people cant afford to pay the tax on soda(*my thought: then why are you buying soda? drink water).
Strange coincidence that soda is consumed in largest amounts amongst the low income and obesity rates are highest amongst the low income. Hmmmm....
I just don't believe that if your kids cant have these now unfordable, high taxed, high sugar drinks they will suffer from dehydration. This is exactly what Maureen Storey of the American Beverage Association would like you to believe: "Soda is comprised mostly of water. A full-calorie soft drink has 90 percent water, and a diet soft drink is 99 percent water. Water is the most important nutrient that we have... There are some studies that show that particularly with children, children who have been exercising may not drink enough water to get back to the hydration point that they need to be at. So with a little bit of flavoring and a little bit of sweetness, they will drink enough, then, to get back to where they need to be."
To this I ask:

Where are these studies? Done by?
Is 8-12 teaspoons of sugar considered "a little bit of sweetness"?
What else is this water and sugar giving us nutritionally?
Some kids are not getting enough to eat at night. Why don't we just serve them cake and ice cream so they will eat?

Saturday, July 17, 2010

Semi Spoiler Alert!!! "Grown Ups"


"Have no regrets when life's final buzzer sounds"...Lenny Feder (Sandler). So glutton for punishment I really love giving the benefit of the doubt to movies that people hate on. I recently saw another one, "Grown Ups". It stars Adam Sandler, Kevin James, Rob Schneider, David Spade and Chris Rock. Its about a group of old childhood basketball teammates all grown up (age not maturity). They reunite when their old coach passes. The weekend of the funeral they go back to the lake house they celebrated in when they were kids. They reminisce and each try to come to terms with the life they are leading and how they can "leave it all out on the court". The movie was full of funny one-liners and a lot of failed ones. I like that it was trying to teach the importance of being a kid, playing outside, family time and friends. I found it entertaining even though, like a typical Sandler movie, amongst the funny jokes there is lots of crude & offensive (if your Canadian, a stay at home dad, in a May-Dec. romance, fat, balding, tragic looking, etc.) ones. It does do a good job of distracting you with scenes of hot chicks (Salma Hayek, Maria Bello, Di Quon, & Madison Riley) so if you love watching a bunch of immature friends razzing and pranking each other ad nuaseam (and I do) then it's the movie for you. My suggestion is don't expect too much, let yourself laugh and you will be fine or wait to rent.

Wednesday, July 14, 2010

2 thumbs up from me despite reviews...

I know we are all suppose to dislike Mr. Cruise but I couldn't help but see past Oprah's couch and to the big screen. He may be crazy, he may have issues but in "Knight and Day" he also has commitment to his role and a personality that can draw you in. Mrs. Diaz is cute and fun in the film and definitely plays well with others. It is not necessarily unique, plausible or the best film in its genre but it was fun, smart, sweet, and exciting, just what you want from a romantic action film. Worth a viewing and good date material since you get a nice amount of lovey dovey amongst car chases, explosions and gun fights.

...and as a bonus large portions were filmed in my future home town, Boston! I drove on that bad a** bridge and through that tunnel... :-)

Girlapalooza!

...Otherwise known as the Lilith Fair was pretty awesome. Even with the less than awesome ticket sales Lilith was quite the show! It had an acoustic stage with performers like Marie Digby. There were 2 side stages with The Weepies, Elizaveta, Jes Hudak, Molly Jenson and more.

The main stage was kicked off with Brandi Carlile (who I think stole the show). The folk rock singer with her energy and powerful voice quickly drew the audience into the beautiful outdoor amphitheater. She rocked them with her original songs and wowed them with her Johnny Cash covers of "Jackson" and "Folsom County Blues".


Next up on the stage was somebody who came all the way back from the original Lilith Fair days, Emmylou Harris. She was a nice accompaniment to the sunset. She proved to her fans she still had what they wanted even though I found her to be a little lack luster.


For the first time, that I know of, Lilith had brought in not just a well known Mexican artist but a wicked cool full mariachi band and even a bar on stage. Jenni Rivera took tequila shots as she belted out many popular covers both in English and Spanish. She was the first artist in the history of Billboard Latino to have all her albums debut at number one at the U.S. Top Latin Albums chart.


If you didn't know Miranda Lambert before you came you definitely knew her and loved her after! The self proclaimed "crazy country redneck" had a great set including her hit "Kerosene" and songs from her new album "Revolution". My favorite part of course was the duet with Belinda Carlile. They sound amazing together and I hope they collaborate sometime in the future.


Headliner and founder of Lilith Fair, Sarah McLachlan was better and stronger than ever. She closed the night with a great show despite co-headliner Kelly Clarkson dropping out. I don't think she needed Kelly and it didn't seem as though anybody else really missed her either. She sang songs off her new album and of course her greatest hits but she brought the house down when she had all the day's performers on stage for the grand finale of "Because the Night"!


My daughter was hanging in the pit and shot these pics and video...


Monday, July 12, 2010

When one door closes another opens...


I was sad to hear they closed my local Indian joint but they replaced it with a new one with a new concept and so far the change is good. I have only tried it once but what I had was even better than before. It is now called Spice 5 and it is in Chino Hills. They have a great lunch buffet which I got a taste of while I waited for my to-go order. They say the buffet menu changes all the time and it has plenty of options. I ordered my favorite Chicken Vindaloo and my daughter had the Chicken Tikka Masala. The Vindaloo is one of their spicier dishes made with chicken and potatoes in a dark red curry sauce. Its seasoned with cumin, turmeric, anise, cayenne, cardamom and so much more. The Masala is much sweeter and milder and is a light salmon color. Both of them are served over light and fluffy basmati rice. The dessert I tried was something I had never had at the other Indian restaurants I've tried. Its called Gajar ka Halwa and it means sweet carrot. They also added a fresh fruit punch made with coconut and pineapple.

Sunday, July 11, 2010

Free Kitties to good home...

So I was thinking "why dont I use this blog to show the kitties I am giving away?" My daughter rescued a stray and she was prego so I now have 3 kittens left looking for good homes. They were born on Easter and they are weened and box trained. They are very sweet and cuddly. They are playful and get along with dogs and cats. I took some pictures of them just being cute and silly. If you are interested in one let me know and i'll arrange a meet for you. :-)

This mommy is a little over-protective...

...and this baby Moo-Moo just wants to be cuddled by anyone even my chair...

So while Ewok & Moo play in the tree for a while,

Gizmo takes a nap...

...and if I were you I wouldn't wake her up or else...

Wednesday, July 7, 2010

Yummies in Virginia/DC area...



There is a nice little Irish pub in Sterling, VA that can do more than make a killer drink. O' Faolain's is a popular place that makes everybody feel at home. They serve Irish favorites like Shepard's Pie, Bangers & Mash and great Guinness Casserole. I love the food but the drinks and the service is what really makes this place stand out. The staff are all Irish (gotta love an accent) and they are so friendly it makes you feel very comfortable, special and always brings a smile to my face.

I also tried a really fantastic kabob place called Moby Dick. They serve Kabob-E Chenjeh chunks of tenderloin, Kabob-E Joojeh Skinless chunks of boneless chicken breast, Fish Kabob chunks of boneless Sword Fish, and Kabob-E Barreh chunks of lamb loin all of which is marinated in their special house seasoning. They are all served on a bed of the lightest most flavorful saffron basmati rice ever. The bread was less than perfect but the spicy yogurt dip and the hummus made it all better :-)

More local for my locals...



Another of my favorite places to chow down is Tortilla Jo's in Downtown Disney. We ordered the Honey Chipotle Glazed Chicken Breast and the Carne Asada Ranchera. The Chicken was juicy and served with a butternut squash and chorizo tamale, sweet corn that is so delish and creamy poblano salsa. The asada was served with a oaxaca (my favorite) cheese quesadilla, lemon-tomatillo sauce, chipotle mashed sweet potatoes that were so good I believe they are a permanant part of my heart and soul and some pretty good black beans. I have also tried the yummy Burrito Verde. It is a large flour tortilla filled with vegetarian black beans, green rice and cheese topped with salsa verde and queso fresco. Served with seasonal vegetables, pico de gallo, and sour cream.

Thursday, July 1, 2010

Local Faire...





So while I was writing up my last travel blog I realized many of you may actually live in the OC so I should post some yummies you can go to for lunch or a dinner maybe... I gathered a few of my favorites to share so here they are in no particular order:

I just had a fantastic dinner at a hole in the wall pool hall. Yes thats right 5 star food at none other than The Rio Vista! Their chef works 2 jobs. He works at Rembrandt's ( fancy shmancy) and when he thought they were closing he got a job at the Rio and now he does both. We had the best prime rib ever tonight! It was tender and flavorful and not all raw in the middle, but I am getting ahead of myself. I should start with the reason we went there to begin with, their shrimp ceviche. This dish is crazy good with their crispy fresh made chips. For me it has just the right amout of acid and tang with not too much salt. The chef also puts in half a perfect avocado sliced so you get a playful array of textures in your mouth. Now back to the prime rib, it came with broccoli, baked potato and garlic toast. I have never had broccoli that has flavor like this it was perfectly cooked, not crunchy yet not mushy. The twice baked potato had perfect savoryness and texture cut in half and baked again creating a slight flavor crust development on top.

My long time favorite in Orange is Rutabegorz, it has got to be the best salad, vegetarian and healthy option locally. I absolutely adore all their food. They make their food with fresh ingredients from scratch. The salads come in a giant mixing bowl and the dressings are sooo good. Besides the best salads ever (not that you need anything after one of their salads) they serve so many delicious dishes. They have a fantastic veggie lasagna and a to die for Mexican casserole. They have burritos, enchiladas, pastas, stews, sandwiches, tacos, stuffed mushrooms, and much more. They have yummy fresh juices (veggie and fruit) along with many other beverages. My favorite beverage when its cool is the cherry cider. Everything Ive tried Ive loved and there is still lots to sample. Go and find your favorite, you will love it! For your convenience and taste pleasure they have 3 locations: Fullerton, Tustin, and Orange.


My Whatnot Week!

So here is the whatnot part of my blog where I tell you all the not cool stuff that filled my week. So Wed. I am excited cuz I got my workout done early so I get to go home while it is still light out! Well the universe had other plans cuz when I pulled out on to Chapman my tire was flat! So me being me, I decided I was going to change it and not call AAA because I don't want to use a call when I can do it. So I change it and the spares a little low so I head to the gas station and put some air in it. I drive home kind of proud that I got it done fast and without my tire iron or my jack lever thingy (missing out of my trunk for some reason, probably from my trip).
Next morning I get up check my tire, still good so I hop in and get my butt to my Physical therapy then to class. I am in school all day and I get out around 8:30 and head to my car. I feel relieved that my day is over but now kinda dreading going home to work on my rough draft for school. I didn't get all the way home when I hear that old familiar sound from the day before....that hollow rotation of a flat tire! I decide to pull off the freeway and drive to the closest gas station in case my tire needs air. I get to the 76 station feeling tired and like i'm running out of homework time but still hopeful that i will just need to fill it up and I should be able to get home. LOL well again the universe had other plans for me. I jack my car up take the wheel off when, what to my wandering eyes should appear, but a miniature sleigh and 8...oh sorry wrong story I look and my brand new, tread pretty, expensive a** tire blew! grrrrr. WTH? So I call AAA and have them tow me to my place. I get home around 10:30 or so and need to do my essay still. I also need to figure out how I am going to get to class. I call my mom for like over an hour while I waited for the tow truck and now she calls me back. She finally agrees to come out so I can use her car.
My mom gets here around 3am and I am working on my essay. I do as much as possible then make something to eat and get ready for school. I get in my moms car and throw my tire in so I can get a new one. I get to class late but at least its over right? EEEHHHH wrong answer! I pick up my tire and head home to change it so I could hurry and get to my other class. On my way home guess what? no really you'll never guess...my moms car overheats and spews coolant all over!!! I am not even playing, this is my life fun huh? So it cools down I get water in and take it home. AAA (my new best friends) come and change my tire cause I am done with cars now and ready to buy a bus pass. I finally get back to school and day starts improving, I get a great work out and then head out for dinner and some drinks but just for sh*ts and giggles the universe has to get one more kick in and I get stung through my pants on my thigh by a bee!
But nothing some yummy food and a Sailor Jerry & diet coke cant fix well and a little karaoke! Horror over now blogs then bed time! YAY!

Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Philly-tasteak!!!







OK so who is ready to get messy messy messy? Next stop on our road trip will be Philly and you know what we are going to eat yummy, fatty, gooey cheesesteaks from the two best steak houses in Philly! Ask a local and they will say either "you gotta get Geno's" or "Pat's King of Steaks", so we had both (of course).

1st up, Pat's which was founded in 1930 as a hot dog stand, and this cheesesteak was fan-freakin-tastic! We ordered it "Wit" (with onions) and the standard cheese is cheese whiz so thats what we had. It was gooey, cheesy, meaty and everything a Philly Cheese should be.

Next up we had Geno's started by Joe Vento (his son Geno works as a manager there with him) in 1966 and while theirs was delicioso too we ordered American cheese instead of cheese whiz and that took away from the yummy warmth and gooeyness of the sandwich and I think the bread was more dense which added to the dryness.

The meats from both locations were really well cooked, tender and nicely seasoned, though thinner sliced at Pat's. Also note worthy they are directly across the street from one another and both get packed all the time and both are open 24/7. Talk about local competition...If your in south Philly you must stop here and try them both but make sure you know how to order or you may get sent to the back of the line when they are busy. You may even spot some celebs pickin up some famous cheesesteaks!

If you will be there for another meal and like me you would like a healthier option or you have a Vegetarian with you, Philly actually has food other than cheese or steak (*a gasp from the audience) I know crazy huh?. I tried a yummy little place called Maoz Vegetarian. It is a international chain so you may have tried it somewhere else but as far as I know, not in SoCal. They are known for the falafel but they have salads and more. The general idea is simple they have an open salad bar with all kinds of yummyies where you fill your hummus or falafel filled pita, flatbread or salad, kind of like a vegetarian pita sandwich version of subway.

Sunday, June 27, 2010

Boston's Eats


Next stop on our trip will be Boston and surrounding areas. We were here for about 5 days and we ate an array of food styles. 1st We had a yummy vegetarian meal at Veggie Planet in Harvard Square, Cambridge MA. This place has been serving out-of-this-world vegitarian and vegan menu options since 2001. First you pick if you want your food served on coconut rice, brown rice or made as a pizza then you pick from a list of tasty and unique combinations. We had a pizza doubleheader and chose the Blonde on Blonde(basil-tofu mash, sliced cheeses, spinach and fried garlic) and a Portabello Redhead(portabellos, caramelized onions, rosemary & sage smothered in romesco sauce topped with feta cheese). We also tried a soup combo with a slightly bland lentil soup and an really bold flavored Unsafe & Sound (tomatoes, sliced mozzarella and asiago cheese, spinach, basil, garlic, and chili sauce) on brown rice. We also got a side of their super yummy Mac and Cheese made with whole wheat macaroni, cheddar cheese, tomatoes, broccoli and scallions topped with asiago cheese. This place had a really cute atmosphere, very artsy and at night it turned into Club Passim, a folk music club that just celebrated its 50th anniversary.

When your in Boston there is no lack of old or Irish. They have great taverns with delicious brews and if your looking for a good hearty Irish meal The Green Dragon Tavern will satisfy your hunger as well. It was established in 1654 and has a rich history rooted in the War of Independence. They have many lunch and Dinner specials including a fantastic whole buttered lobster cooked perfect and corn on the cob for only about 10. or 11. We had the Tavern Mixed Grill which came with steak tips, Irish sausage, Irish bacon and baked beans of course. Given the location you could guess that the Clam Chowder was one of the best Ive ever tried. For the vegetarians in your life they do offer a pretty yummy veggie burger as well with lots of topping choices. This I would say was my favorite meal while in Boston and don't be surprised if you run into Paul Revere or John Hancock while dining in this beautifully decorated Tavern.

If you are into the Asian cuisine you can take a short jaunt over to China Town and find many options all over back alleys and main roads they have restaurants to satisfy any craving. We looked at many menus and went with Burbor Cha Cha. We had Mee Siam which is stir fried vermicelli with fried tofu, shrimp, egg, bean sprouts and chives in a spicy Thai chili sauce with crushed peanuts. We also had Thai Green Curry Vegetables which was an assortment of veggies in a spicy (not really spicy) coconut curry broth. We had a side of Thai spring rolls as well which came with a tasty plum sauce. I loved the Mee Siam but I thought the curry veggies were much too sweet for my taste but I do have to say the eggplant was cooked really well, not chewy or mushy at all. The spring rolls were good fairly similar to others you may have tried but the sauce was what made them delicious.

Last but not least you must go to Mikes Pastries in little Italy on the North End for a Boston Cream Pie! It is always busy there and its kind of like ordering at a bar you gotta push up to the counter and know what you want so you can get the order in quick. The cannolies are amazing and they have so many kinds its hard to choose. Fantastic deserts of all kinds with 50 years of pastry making history and everything handmade fresh on site....sooo yummy!

These are not the only places I tried but it would take another blog to write about all the tasties in Boston and we must get to our next stop so seat belts on were out....

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Chi-town!




Chicago was actually a very short stop for me but I miss the food soooo much! First for those that are environmentally conscious or in love with really good burgers you have to try Epic Burger. Theirs is "a more mindful burger". They offer the Natural Epic, Tasty Turkey, Chicken Breast, & for the Vegetarians, the Portabella Mushroom Sandwich. You can get any of these super juicy and flavorful choices on whole wheat or white and you can add extras to make your own special burger. I recommend the cage free fried egg, one of the super fresh wisconsin cheese options (I got aged cheddar) and if you want the bacon your in luck because they have it and its cooked just right. I rarely get to enjoy a really yummy bacon cheeseburger because the nitrites give me migraines but Epic Burger only serves nitrate free bacon. To compliment a great burger you always want great fries and their fries are really good (but lots of small pieces due to using the whole potato), fresh cut and fresh cooked in trans-fat free oil (yes even organic ketchup at every table). With your combo you can opt for fountain drink, bottled drink, or even a fresh fruit smoothie or milkshake.

If burgers are not what you crave then pass by Epic and hit up Lou Malnati's Pizzeria. I vouch for their claim of being home of the best Chicago deep dish in the world! I never eat the crust of my pizza and you could not pry theirs out of my hand. I have always thought deep dish pizza was just a thick crust, turns out its not. They have an amazing buttery crust thats hand pressed in a seasoned deep pie pan then the first layer of fresh mozzarella slices go in then big giant perfectly seasoned sausage is loaded in topped with their fresh handmade chunky tomato sauce more cheese and some fresh herbs. This was the very best pizza I have ever had and it weighed in at a few pounds for a medium 12" pizza, definitely enough to feed 3 to 4 people!

So cost wise a burger combo at Epic's will run you about 9. depending on drink and extras. A medium pizza at Lou's will cost you only about 16. So depending on your wallet and your belly both of these are great options if you find your self in Chicago wandering the streets hungry.

Welcome!

Hey everybody my name is Erin and I was thinking my first post should be an introduction to my new blog. I decided that I would try to focus on the things I love to do the most, eat and travel. I will try to bring in some of my experiences and give you fun information in return; tips on things to see, things to do, and definitely places to eat. Since I'm a struggling student most things will be for those on a budget. I always try to get suggestions from the locals and test them out and now I will attempt to share them with you. My traveling experiences are still limited and I am hoping to expand them so if you have suggestions I would love to hear about them.

And if you have the chance check out my other site travelingpeeps.com I started it on my last drive across country and I add to it when I get the chance and others can vote and post their own peep pics :-)